Carmen 2011

Bizet’s CARMEN

The smouldering gypsy seductress, Carmen, leaves men panting for more. Foresworn to "freedom," she can be embraced, but never possessed. Her fate lies inextricably in the cards. See how a casual, flirtatious dalliance when mixed with jealousy and obsession becomes a seriously deadly game of chance. An unforgettable tragedy of shocking and risque morality, set to a fiery, colorful score infused with the pulsing sensuality of gypsy and Spanish influenced melodies.

Over 90 Victorian performers have been assembled by Melbourne Opera to bring Bizet’s dramatic story to life, creating an opera bursting with energy and packed full of great tunes including the Toreador Song, Habanera, Seguidilla and Flower song.

Directed by Hugh Halliday, the new opera promises to be lively, animated and energetic with thrilling performances from Dimity Shepherd and Tania Ferris as Carmen, joined by the magnificent dramatic tenors Jason Wasley and David Rogers-Smith as her doomed lover Don Jose. Simon Meadows and Phillip Calcagno will alternate as the glamorous Toreador Escamillo.


Photos by Robin Halls


Carmen - Dimity Shepherd & Tania Ferris
Don Jose - Jason Wasley & David Rogers-Smith
Escamillo - Simon Meadows & Phillip Calcagno
Micaela - Lee Abrahmsen & Kerry
Zuniga - Roger Howell & John Fernon
Morales - Michael Lampard & James Payne
Frasquita - Angela Hogan & Nicole Wallace
Dancairo - Ian Cousins & Lucas De Jong
Mercedes - Belinda Paterson & Caroline Vercoe
Remendado - Paul Biencourt & Michael Lapina
Lillas Pasta - Michael Lampard & James Payne
Guide - Michael Lampard & James Payne


Antonio Cirocco
Craig Debono
Dennis Foote
Tim Jaques
Tony Rainer
Richard Wilson
David Woodberry

Paul Dernelley
Dick Dowling
Mark Henderson
Bernie Nolan
Roland Seidl
Robert Van Keulen

Tiffany Carter
Giuliana D’Appio
Cheryl Darvidis
Piera Dennerstien
Melinda Frith
Sue Halls
Julia Harper
Debra O’Connor

Kathy Hatton
Maree Macmillan
Kylie Payman
Emmy Thompson
Norma Tovey
Cecily Woodberry

Chorus Master - William Bamford

Araminta Beroukas
Miranda Bromage
Paolo Cini
Isabella Cini
Marianne Foo
Lucinda Halls
Jessica Kiossis
Aidan McGartland
Tamsyn Nanfra
Dominic Payman
Kester Poole
Andre Sasalu
Alice Spencer
Elena Teh
Jessica Verrocchi

Joel Anderson
Sarah Bruce
Andrew Cripps Clark
Marijke Franken
Francesca Meale
Sophie Qin
Aileen Tan
Simone Williamson

Choreographer - Michele Forbes

© Copyright 2002, 2013 Melbourne Opera
Design by Design Junkies