The Magic Flute

The Magic Flute

by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Following the sold-out triumph of La Traviata in June, and Bizet’s ever-popular The Pearlfishers in September, Melbourne Opera’s final production for our debut 2003 season was The Magic Flute.

Sung in English in a new translation, The Magic Flute is Mozart’s final masterpiece, a stunning mixture of low comedy and high seriousness as two young men and women find maturity and love through trial.

This new production was directed by Caroline Stacey, designed by Kaoru Alfonso, conducted by Maestro Armando Krieger, Warwick Stengards, and Greg Hocking, and featured the acclaimed Melbourne Opera Orchestra and Chorus along with a cast of extraordinary Australian singers.



Sarastro Richard Curtin, David Gould
Stephen Smith, James Egglestone, Jacob Caine
Joanna Cole, Antoinette Halloran, Elena Xanthoudakis
Speaker Ian Cousins, Roger Howell
Queen of the Night
Teresa la Rocca, Jane O'Toole, Ebony Hack
Francesco Fabris, Jason Wasley, Derek Welton
Shu-Cheen Yu, Seija Knight, Kylie Pointer
Monostatos Matthew Davine, Mark Fowler
Three Ladies
Felicity Baldock, Barbara Idzkowska Curtin, Isobel Veale,
Rebecca Long, Kathryn Grey, Jenny Wakefield,
Vanessa West
Two Priests
Jacob Caine, Derek Welton, Daryl Barclay, Bryan O'Connell
Two Men in Armour
Mark Fowler, Piers Bray, Adrian McEniery, David Gould,
Alex McCutcheon,
Three Genies
Katrina Soucoultanos, Natalie Edwards, Marie Finne,
Marina Connolly, Laura Slavin, Fintan Hocking
Two Slaves Fatih Karakas, Josh Perillo

Amanda Bathgate
Jacob Caine
Rebecca Crabtree
Peter Donnelly
Jennifer Donohue
Brendan Egan
Ann Fichera
Marie Finne
Angus Grant
Peter Grant
Sue Halls
John Handley
Kathy Hatton
Mark Henderson
Fatih Karakas
Sally Kirkcaldy
John Marum
Alex McCutcheon
Suzan Milosevic
Helena Nicolaou
Bernard Nolan
Bryan O'Connell
Josh Perillo
Rodney Phillips
Taso Psychoulas
Kylie Purcell
Robert Ratcliffe
Camila Rivera
Susan Robertson
Roland Seidl
Katrina Soucoultanos
Christopher Stobie
Rachel Sztanski
Erica Taylor
Norma Tovey
Mary Vidovich
Lynda Watkins
Cecily Woodberry
David Woodberry


© Copyright 2002, 2013 Melbourne Opera
Design by Design Junkies