The Pearl Fishers (2014)

Melbourne Opera present Pearl Fishers conducted by Maestro Richard Divall AO OBE.

Les pêcheurs de perles (The Pearl Fishers) is an opera in three acts by the French composer Georges Bizet, to a libretto by Eugène Cormon and Michel Carré. It was first performed on 30 September 1863 at the Théâtre Lyrique in Paris, and was given 18 performances in its initial run. Set in ancient times on the island of Ceylon, the opera tells the story of how two men's vow of eternal friendship is threatened by their love for the same woman, whose own dilemma is the conflict between secular love and her sacred oath as a priestess. The friendship duet "Au fond du temple saint", generally known as "The Pearl Fishers Duet", is one of the best-known numbers in Western opera.





Leila Lee Abrhamsen
& Barbara Zavros
Nadir Brenton Spiteri
& Robert Barbaro
Zurga Phillip Calcagno
& Michael Lampard
Nourabad Eddie Muliaumaseali'i
& Matthew Thomas

Photos by Matt Deller

James Ash
Ariel Chou
Ian Cook
Giuliana D'Appio
Tim Daly
Cheryl Darvidis
John Davies
Jodie Debono
Paul Dernelly
Genevieve Dickson
Ali Doodstar
Dick Dowling
Daniel Felton
Brigitte Garofalo
Peter Hanway
Mark Henderson
Te Ua Houkamau
Maree Macmillan
Steve Marsh
Eloise Kerr
Geoff King
Cleo Lee-McGowan
Debra O'Connor
Alexandra Oke
John Overberg
James Penn
Anna Peterson
Sue Robertson
Roland Seidl
Cameron Sibly
Norma Tovey
Robert van Kuelen
Nick Webb
Megan Whiteside


© Copyright 2002, 2013 Melbourne Opera
Design by Design Junkies