HMS Pinafore

Responding to public demand, Melbourne Opera presents Gilbert and Sullivan’s beloved comic opera H.M.S. Pinafore, their first big success. H.M.S. Pinafore features many of G&S’s best loved comic songs, arias and choruses in a scintillating and timeless send up of the British class system and politicians.

An all-star cast featuring David Gould as Sir Joseph Porter KCB has been assembled by Melbourne Opera for this first professional G&S production in over 10 years.

Internationally-recognised soprano Claire Lyon joins the cast following her lead role in The Phantom of the Opera World Tour, principal roles with Opera Australia, a Helpmann Award nomination for her role in John Frost & Opera Australia’s Anything Goes and a Green Room nominated performance in The Production Company’s Broadway version of The Pirates of Penzance at Hamer Hall.

Starring alongside David and Claire is celebrated tenor David Roger-Smith as the gentlemanly Captain Corcoran and Paul Biencourt as Ralph Rackstraw, following a highly praised performance in 2016 as Pedrillo in The Abduction from the Seraglio.  Multi-award winning soprano Andrea Creighton will take on the role of Little Buttercup fresh from playing Carlotta Guidicelli in the Phantom of the Opera World Tour.

Other cast includes Roger Howell as the blunt-spoken Dick Deadeye, Jodie Debono and Cheryl Darvidis playing the aristocratic Cousin Hebe, Finn Gilheany as Bill Bobstay and Roland Seidl as Bob Becket.

Robert Ray, well known G&S expert will direct and choreograph and the production features the acclaimed Melbourne Opera Chorus and Orchestra conducted by Greg Hocking and Raymond Lawrence.

Sir Joseph Porter David Gould
Captain Corcoran David Rogers-Smith
Josephine Claire Lyon
Buttercup Dandrea Creighton
Ralph Rackstraw Paul Biencourt
Dick Deadeye Roger Howell
Hebe Jodie Debono & 
Cheryl Darvidis
Bosun Finn Gilheany
Carpenter Roland Seidl &
Peter Hanway

Alicia Groves
Alison McIntosh-Deszcz
Angela Hennel
Anna Peterson
Cecily Woodberry
Cheryl Darvidis
Darcy Carroll
David Woodberry
Debra O'Connor
Finn Gilheany
Guiliana D'Appio
Ian Cook
Jodi Debono

Joshua Soderlind
Lynda Watkins
Mark Henderson
Matt Biscombe
Paul Dernelly
Peter Hanway
Robyn-Jane Dhanjee
Roland Seidl
Susan Halls
Te Ua Houkama
Tim Daly
Trevor Mills
Zoe Taylor

Photos by Robin Halls

© Copyright 2002, 2013 Melbourne Opera
Design by Design Junkies