Following the huge critical and public success of 2016's “Tannhauser”, Melbourne Opera is excited to present Richard Wagner's magnificent Romantic opera “Lohengrin” at the beautiful Regent Theatre.

After his outstanding performance as Tannhauser, international Wagnerian tenor Marius Vlad returns to star as Lohengrin, the mysterious Knight of the Grail.

Melbourne born dramatic soprano Helena Dix, currently appearing at the Met, makes her Melbourne debut as Elsa von Brabant, and is joined by Sarah Sweeting as the evil Ortrud . Icelandic heldenbaritone Hrolfur Saemundsson makes his Australian debut as Telramund.

The 60 strong Melbourne Opera Chorus and 70 piece Melbourne Opera Orchestra are conducted by David Kram and Greg Hocking. The new production is directed by Suzanne Chaundy, whose production of “Tannhauser" was such a success.

Lohengrin" contains some of Wagner’s most famous arias and stirring ensembles, including the famous Wedding Chorus, Overture and Prelude to Act 3, and Lohengrin’s moving In fernem land and Mein lieber Schwann. The opera will be sung in German with English subtitles.

Lohengrin Synopsis and Notes from the Director

Lohengrin Marius Vlad
Elsa Helena Dix
Friedrich Hrólfur Sæmundsson
Ortrud Sarah Sweeting
Heinrich Eddie Muliaumaseali'i
Heerufer Philip Calcagno
Branbantisch Elders Jason Wasley
Paul Biencourt
Matt Thomas
Alex Pokryshevsky
Gottfried Dashiel Agar
Ariel Chou
Maddie Crombie
Shakira Dugan
Cornelia Elmelid
Esther Gresswell
Alicia Groves
Alison McIntosh-Deszcz
Erin Towns
Jordan Auld
Monique Churchill
Chris Cocklin
Maggie Doyle
Susan Halls
Margaret Hooper
Skylin Hu
Jade Leigh
Joy Lukman
Maree Macmillan
Rosemary 'Brien
Debra O'Connor
Ania Peterson
Elaine Potter
Sue Robertson
Christine Storey
Norma Tovey
Lynda Watkins
Laura Zalesiak
Lisa Belle Lally
Emilia Bertolini
Annette Dick
Angela Hennel
Catherine Hoffman
Cailin Howarth
Lavinia Ionescu
Sofia Jaquiery
Sara Kogan-Lazarus
Helen Ling
Bianca Majchrzak
Leah Phillips
Natalie Reid
Meren Reid
Emily Wilkinson
Cecily Woodberry
Andrew Alesi
James Ash
Matt Biscombe
Ian Cook
David Cramond
Timothy Daly
Paul Dernelley
Michael Dimovski
Dick Dowling
Finn Gilheany
Michael Hammelman
Peter Hanway
Mark Henderson
Te Ua Houkamau
Andrew J Dickinson
Geoff King
Patrick MacDevitt
Terence MacManus
Stephen Marsh
Trevor Mills
David Morley
Robert Moroni
Bernie Nolan
George Opritescu
Matt Phillips
David Preston
Roland Seidl
Cameron Sibly
Joshua Soderlind
Elsdon Storey
Samuel Thomas-Holland
Robert Van Keulen
Nicholas Webb
David Woodberry

Photos by Robin Halls

© Copyright 2002, 2013 Melbourne Opera
Design by Design Junkies