The Merry Widow

Melbourne Opera kicks off its 2011 season with a glamorous new production of Lehar`s ever popular operetta The Merry Widow. With an all-star cast headed by popular soprano (and cabaret star) Ali McGregor and David Rogers-Smith, a great night out is assured with some of the best known melodies of all time including the ever popular Vilia. The acclaimed Melbourne Opera Chorus and Orchestra are conducted by Lehar specialist David Kram and the new production is directed by Hugh Halliday, the director of so many of Melbourne Opera’s hits.


The Merry Widow tells the hilarious story of the desperate attempts by the tiny bankrupt state of Pontevedro to prevent the enormously wealthy Hanna Glawari (the "merry widow") from marrying a foreigner, thereby resulting in the financial collapse of the Duchy. There are numerous pitfalls on the way to Hanna’s happy reunion with the first secretary of the Embassy, the dashing Count Danilo. A smash hit throughout the world, The Merry Widow is packed with highly enjoyable numbers including the great Vilia, beloved of sopranos and audiences everywhere, as well as several of the most popular and romantic waltzes ever written. Book early as this production will sell out.


SUNG IN ENGLISH - Duration: 3 hours, including one interval of 20 minutes, one interval of 10 minutes




Hanna Glawari






















St Brioch










Praskovia -



Maitre D’


Ali McGregor

Dominique Oyston


David Rogers-Smith


Geoff Harris

Ian Cousins


Lee Abrahmsen

Angela Hogan


Roy Best

Nick Seiderman


Jery Kozlowski

John Fernon


David Gould


Manfred Pohlenz


Paul Biencourt


Simon Medows


Guiliana D'Appio

Angela Lumicisi


Cheryl Darvidis

Sarah Somers


Cecily Woodsberry

Wendy Trent


Richard Wilson

Te Ua Houkamau


Set Designer            Andrew Bellchambers


Costume Designer  Zohie Castellano


Lighting Designer    Scott Allan


Choreographer -     Michele Forbes


Richard Wilson

Tim Jaques

Te Ua Houkamau

David Woodberry

Paul Dernelley

Bernie Nolan

Dick Dowling

Roland Seidl

Mark Henderson

Michael Carr

Robert Van Keulen

Catherine Meade

Piera Dennerstien

Alice Woodberry

Sue Halls

Sue Robertson

Jennette Green

Debra O’Connor

Maree Macmillan

Emmie Thompson

Kathy Hatton

Melinda Frith