The Pearl Fishers (2014)

Melbourne Opera present Pearl Fishers conducted by Maestro Richard Divall AO OBE.


Les pêcheurs de perles (The Pearl Fishers) is an opera in three acts by the French composer Georges Bizet, to a libretto by Eugène Cormon and Michel Carré. It was first performed on 30 September 1863 at the Théâtre Lyrique in Paris, and was given 18 performances in its initial run. Set in ancient times on the island of Ceylon, the opera tells the story of how two men's vow of eternal friendship is threatened by their love for the same woman, whose own dilemma is the conflict between secular love and her sacred oath as a priestess. The friendship duet "Au fond du temple saint", generally known as "The Pearl Fishers Duet", is one of the best-known numbers in Western opera.

















James Ash

Ariel Chou

Ian Cook

Giuliana D'Appio

Tim Daly

Cheryl Darvidis

John Davies

Jodie Debono

Paul Dernelly

Genevieve Dickson

Ali Doodstar

Dick Dowling

Daniel Felton

Brigitte Garofalo

Peter Hanway

Mark Henderson

Te Ua Houkamau


Lee Abrhamsen

& Barbara Zavros


Brenton Spiteri

& Robert Barbaro


 Phillip Calcagno

& Michael Lampard



Eddie Muliaumaseali'i

& Matthew Thomas

Maree Macmillan

Steve Marsh

Eloise Kerr

Geoff King

Cleo Lee-McGowan

Debra O'Connor

Alexandra Oke

John Overberg

James Penn

Anna Peterson

Sue Robertson

Roland Seidl

Cameron Sibly

Norma Tovey

Robert van Kuelen

Nick Webb

Megan Whiteside