The Pearl Fishers

by Georges Bizet


Following the sold-out triumph of La Traviata in June 2003, Melbourne Opera’s next production was a brand new production of Bizet’s ever-popular The Pearlfishers. This was the first Australian performance of Bizet’s original version of 1863.


Sung in English, the Pearlfishers features some of the best loved music in all opera, including the memorable duet In the depths of the temple, Leila’s aria, and the magnificent Brahma chorus.


This new production was directed by Plamen Kartaloff, designed by Kaoru Alfonso, conducted by John Dingle and Greg Hocking, and featured the acclaimed 45-voice Melbourne Opera Chorus and Orchestra along with a cast of extraordinary Australian singers.














Ebony Hack,

Elena Xanthoudakis


James Egglestone,

Stephen Smith


Roger Howell,

Manfred Pohlenz


Nourabad Piers Bray,

Tim Daly,

David Gould


Jacob Caine

Rebecca Crabtree

Peter Donnelly

Brendan Egan

Marie Finne

Peter Grant

Sue Halls

John Handley

Kathy Hatton

Mark Henderson

Fatih Karakas

Seija Knight

Alex McCutcheon

Helena Nicolaou

Bernard Nolan

Bryan O'Connell

Josh Perillo

Rodney Phillips

Taso Psychoulas

Kylie Purcell

Robert Ratcliffe

Camila Rivera

Sue Robertson

Roland Seidl

Katrina Soucoultanos

Rachel Sztanski

Erica Taylor

Lynda Watkins

Cecily Woodberry

David Woodberry