About Us

Melbourne Opera prides itself on its commitment to producing high quality, accessible performances for the benefit of audiences and performers.

On Stage Talent

Meet the on stage talent of Melbourne Opera.


Melbourne Opera will be auditioning male and female chorus members later in the year. For more information contact the Chorus Master.


Company Manager: Robbie McPhee
Chief Financial Officer: Ken Neate
Company Secretary: Ken Neate
Head of Music: Raymond Lawrence


John Dingle – Conductor
Richard Divall – Conductor
Patrick Burns – Conductor
Greg Hocking – Resident Conductor
Ben Hudson – Conductor
David Kram – Conductor
Armando Krieger – Principal Guest conductor
Raymond Lawrence – Conductor
Esmond Pitt – Assistant Conductor / Orchestra Management
Rick Prakhoff – Conductor
Aldo Salvagno – Conductor
Warwick Stengards – Conductor
Matthew Toogood – Conductor


Greg Carroll
Suzanne Chaundy
Blair Edgar
Hugh Halliday
Plamen Kartaloff
Robert Ray
Caroline Stacey
Silvia Scolladero

Assistant Directors

Greg Eldridge
Miki Oikawa


Kaoru Alfonso
Andrew Bellchambers
Gareth Blaha
Sonia Cammarata
Greg Carroll
Anna Cordingley
Peter Corrigan
Daniel Harvey
Richard Jeziorny
Christina Logan-Bell
Zohie Castellano

Lighting Designers/Directors

Scott Allan – Lighting Director
Lucy Birkinshaw – Lighting Designer
Nick Merrylees – Lighting Designer
Zoe Scoglio – Video Designer


Michele Forbes
Bettina Kurten – Choreographer / Movement Coach / Director
Miki Oikawa


The current Melbourne Opera Orchestra has been developed into Melbourne Opera’s third orchestra since its formation in 2002. The Orchestra leads an active concert life as well as playing in the opera pit.

The Melbourne Opera Orchestra has appeared at the Melbourne Concert Hall (Hamer Hall), Crown Casino, Her Majesty’s Theatre, and the Athenaeum Theatre, and at numerous regional Performing Arts Centres and wineries, and in December 2015-January 2016 undertook a very successful tour into China, and has been invited to make two further visits there this year.

The Orchestra is available for corporate and private bookings. For enquiries please contact Orchestra Management on +61 3 9614 4188.


Current Establishment

Violin I

Ben Spiers (Concertmaster)
Bernadette Baker
Zamarah Morley
Jack Cross
Tom Pepperell
Christine Daley
Chantal Roddy
Felicité Heine
Jake Deans
Edwina Jensen
Daniel Tagiev

Violin II

Nino Ksovreli
Owen Halliday
Katherine Hewitt
Connor Hicks
Rennata Morrison
Rebecca Scully
Kate Marshall
Amorgh Anath
Jessica Lambourn
Jack Cross



Deborah Wirsu
Catherine Marshall
Setsuko Minamikawa
Jin Tong Long
Gabrielle Ruttico
Alison Feiner
Catherine Turnbull


Christopher Raduly
Keryn Lientschnig
Janet Butler
Nicholas Jensen
Gemma Ruttico


Zou Ling
Ken Harris
Ben Staker
Louis Stevens


Sam Ramirez


Elizabeth Barcan
Vicki Stanko


Kelly Williams


Kelli White
Lisa Clarke


Greg Pharo
Andrew Jacobs
Briana Leaman
Cor Anglais
Andrew Jacobs


Sally Wickes
Sara Rafferton
Glenn Taylor


Stuart McGregor
Ella Jakins
Sharon Hatton
Phoebe Smithies
Tim Hannah


Stuart McCorkelle
Amber Lomanowicz
Phoebe Smithies
Sarah Henderson
Lewy Coard


Trea Hindley
Dion Hatherell
Kiran Samuels


Arwen Johnston


Lara Wilson
Fintan Hocking


Greg Hocking

Board of Directors


David Pitt,  Chair
Ian Dickson AM, Vice -Chair
Elizabeth Dax AM
Margaret Haggart OAM
Greg Hocking AM
Barry Janes
Anastasia Fai Kogan
Gillian McIntosh
Kenneth Neate
Stephen Smith
Michael Wright AM QC


Lady Potter AC CMRI

Founding Patrons

Sir Zelman Cowen AK GCMG GCVO KStJ QC
Prof Richard Divall AO OBE
Sir Rupert Hamer AC KCMG
Lady Hamer
Dame Elisabeth Murdoch AC DBE
Dame Joan Sutherland OM AC CBE


Maestro Richard Bonynge AC CBE

Register for priority updates.

Patrons are reminded to to avoid ticket “resale” sites such as Viagogo, who advertise heavily and often mislead consumers into paying much higher prices than necessary. Tickets to our shows should only be purchased from an authorised and reputatable company like Ticketmaster, Ticketek or GoTix.