Madame Butterfly

Responding to popular demand, Puccini’s dramatic masterpiece returns to the Athenaeum Theatre for another sell-out season.

Production Details

21, 24 March — 3 May, 2014.
Athenaeum Theatre, Melbourne.
Alexander Theatre, Monash University
Running Time:
2hr 30m, with one 25 minute interval.

Composer: Giacomo Puccini
Conductor: Greg Hocking
Director: Caroline Stacey
Starring: Antoinette Halloran, Caroline Vercoe, Jason Wasely, David Rogers-Smith, Roger Howell.

Melbourne Opera’s acclaimed production of Madame Butterfly, perhaps the most beloved of all operas. Featuring an outstanding cast handpicked for this season and led by international sopranos Antoinette Halloran and Emily Wang, Jason Wasley, David Rogers-Smith, Roger Howell and James Payne reprising their outstanding performances as Pinkerton and Sharpless.

The well known story includes much of Puccini’s most famous music as the tragic tale of the ruthless exploitation of the innocent Madame Butterfly unfolds.

Madame Butterfly is the ideal introduction to opera and the intimacy of the beautifully refurbished Athenaeum Theatre will allow the impact of the story to make its full effect.


Production Sponsor: Henkell Brothers Investment Managers.

Press & Reviews

“A moving and beautiful production”
— The Age

“It is without a doubt, one of the world’s favourite Operas, and The Melbourne Opera Company’s production of Giacomo Puccini’s dramatic masterpiece ‘Madame Butterfly’ proves why.”

Cast & Crew

Cio Cio San
– Antoinette Halloran, Emily Xiao Wang
Lt Pinkerton – Jason Wasley, David Rogers-Smith
Sharpless – Roger Howell, James Payne
Suzuki – Caroline Vercoe, Angela Hogan
Goro – Jacob Caine, Paul Biencourt
The Bonze – Steven Gallop
Kate Pinkerton – Jodie Debono, Cheryl Darvidis
Yamadori – Michael Lampard
Commissioner – Steven Marsh
Official – Michael Carr


James Ash, Ariel Chou, Ian Cook, Fiona Craig, Paul Dernelly, Andrew Dickinson, Dick Dowling, Sue Halls, Peter Hanway, Mark Henderson, Angela Hennel, Lavinia Ionescu, Robyn-Jane Lacey, Maree Macmillan, Bernie Nolan, Debra O’Connor Alexandra Oke, George Opritescu, John Overberg, Sue Robertson Roland Seidl, Zoe Taylor, Norma Tovey, Robert Van Keulen, Richard Wilson, Cecily Woodberry, David Woodberry.


Director: Caroline Stacey
: Greg Hocking
Designer – Set: Caroline Stacey & Greg Carroll
Designer – Costume: Daniel Harvey
Designer – Lighting: Gareth Simmonds
Choreographer — Bettina Kürten
Head of Music-Chorus Master: Raymond Lawrence
Stage Manager: Alex Parsons
Assistant Stage Manager: Nick Renfree-Marks & Sarah Grey
Costume Manager: Daniel Harvey
Wigs, Hair, Makeup: Amanda Cummings

Set Construction: Greg Carroll
Company Manager: Robbie McPhee
Producer: Greg Hocking AM