The Flying Dutchman

Melbourne Opera returns to the magnificent Regent Theatre – scene of its highly successful Lohengrin and Tannhäuser seasons – for this large scale production.

Production Details

February 3, 5, 7th, 2019.
Regent Theatre, Melbourne.
Running Time:
2hr 15m, without interval.

Composer: Richard Wagner
Conductor: Anthony Negus
Director: Suzanne Chaundy
Starring: Lee Abrahmsen, Steven Gallop, Darren Jeffrey, Roxane Hislop.

One of the world’s greatest Wagnerian maestros, Anthony Negus, returns to Melbourne Opera to conduct Wagner’s dramatic masterpiece The Flying Dutchman.

Following his enormous success with Tristan and Isolde in February 2018, Maestro Negus and Melbourne Opera have assembled a first rate international cast featuring Darren Jeffery as The Dutchman, Lee Abrahamsen, Rosario La Spina, Roxane Hislop and Steven Gallop to perform Suzanne Chaundy’s exciting new production.

Melbourne Opera returns to the magnificent Regent Theatre – scene of its highly successful Lohengrin and Tannhäuser seasons – for this large scale production, which also features the 70 strong Melbourne Opera Chorus and specially augmented Melbourne Opera Orchestra.

Sung in German with English subtitles.

The Richard Wagner Society Inc is supporting the role of Senta in this production.

Principal Sponsor: Henkell Brothers Investment Managers. 


Press & Reviews

“Melbourne Opera soar with Flying Dutchman”
— Bridget Davies, Sydney Morning Herald.

“The depth of the musicality, the class of the principles and the effectiveness of the visual design are all superior, and proof that Melbourne Opera has truly come of age.” 

— Tim Byrne, Timeout.


Cast & Crew

Der Holländer
— BASS-BARITONE — Darren Jeffrey.

Senta — SOPRANO — Lee Abrahamsen
Daland — BASS — Steven Gallop
Erik — TENOR — Rosario La Spina
Mary — MEZZO SOPRANO — Roxane Hislop
Der Steuermann — TENOR — Michael Lapina

Alicia Groves, Alexandra Okenshield, Angela Hennel, Angela Murnane, Anna Gaffney, Annette Dick, Ariel Chou, Cassandra Quinlan, Catherine Hoffman, Cecily Woodberry, Cheryl Darvidis, Chris Cocklin, Christine Rodda, Debra O’Connor, Elizabeth Rusli, Ella Broome, Esther Cresswell, Giuliana D’Appio, Hannah Carter.

Jade Biezen, Jane Magão, Jordan Auld, Joy Lukman, Julia Allsop, Kathy Hatton, Kristina (Teena) Fekonja, Leah Phillips, Louise Keast, Maddie Crombie, Maree Macmillan, Megan Whiteside, Miriam Whiting-Reilly, Myfanwy Coghill, Nadia Migliardi, Natalie Grimmett, Natalie Reid, Piri Jakab, Rebecca Kmi, Rosemary O’Brien, Sarah Jackson, Sheila Baker, Sue Halls, Tahlia Murphy, Theresa Lam, Andrew Alesi, Andrew Dickinson, Antony Steadman, Bern Nolan, Cameron Sibley, Christoph Weick, Darcy Carroll, David Woodberry, Dick Dowling, Elsdon Storey, Finn Gilheany, Geoff King, Graeme Lock, Ian Cook, James Ash, James Boon, James Park, James Sybren-Penn, Kevin Maynes, Mark Henderson, Matthew Phillips, Michael Hammelman, Michael Dimovski, Peter Weiss, Robert Van Keulen, Ron Mack, Ryan Hayward, Stephen Brodie, Stephen Marino, Daniel Sinfield, Eddie Muliaumaseali’i, Fintan Hocking, Gabriel Sathiaseelan, Geoff Harris, Greg Hocking, Ian Dickson, Lucas de Jong, Mick Lampard, Nicholas Beecher, Neville Yeomans, Peter Tregear, Roger Howell, Roland Seidl, Shakira Dugan, Shaun Fogarty, Stephen Marsh, Ted Johnson, Trevor Mills.

Conductor: Anthony Negus
Director: Suzanne Chaundy
Head of Music & Chorus Master: Raymond Lawrence
Set Designer: Andrew Bailey
Movement Director: Verity Hunt-Ballard
Lighting Designer: Rob Sowinski
Head of Wardrobe: Jillian Wilson
Assistant Director: Miki Oikawa
Stage Manager: Will Barker
Assistant Stage Manger: Cointha Walkeden, Olivia Clark
Repetiteur: Konrad Olszewski
Hair, Make-up & Wigs: Taylor Elliott
Costume Designer: Harriet Oxley
Language Coach: Carmen Jakobi, Christoph Wieck
Surtitles: Eleanor Smith. Miki Oikawa
Set Build: Greg Carroll, Daniel Madrigali, Hamish Powell
Company Manager: Robbie McPhee
Producer: Greg Hocking AM