Melbourne Opera presents this new production to commemorate the sesquicentenary of the birth of Dame Nellie Melba, one of the greatest Marguerites of all time.

Production Details

June 21, 25, 27 – July 1, 2011.
Athenaeum Theatre, Melbourne.
Robert Blackwood Hall, Monash University
Running Time:
2hr 45m, one twenty minute interval.

Composer: Charles Gounod
Conductor: Greg Hocking
Director: Hugh Halliday
Starring: David Rogers-Smith, Philip Calagano, Lee Abrahmsen, Belinda Paterson.

 Melbourne Opera is delighted to present a new production of Gounod’s beloved “Faust”, an audience favourite since its premiere in 1859.Packed with a string of the best loved arias and ensembles in French opera (Marguerite’s Jewel Song, Valentin’s “Even Bravest Hearts”, Faust’s “Salut Demeure” and the rousing Soldier’s chorus, “Faust” is above all a great vocal showcase.

Once again Melbourne Opera has assembled a superb cast: David Rogers-Smith as Faust, Steven Gallop as Mephistopheles (a role he has performed to great acclaim in Europe and the US), Danielle Calder as Marguerite and Phillip Calcagno as Valentin, all supported by the outstanding Melbourne Opera Chorus and Orchestra conducted by Greg Hocking.

The fascinating tale of Faust’s pact with the devil will be performed in English, and the new production is directed by Hugh Halliday, whose most recent production of “The Merry Widow” garnered rave reviews and packed houses.


Press & Reviews

“Melbourne Opera presents this new production to commemorate the sesquicentenary of the birth of Dame Nellie Melba, one of the greatest Marguerites of all time.”
Herald Sun.

“The MO orchestra rises to the occasion under conductor Greg Hocking.”
— Simon Parris.

Cast & Crew

Faust – David Rogers-Smith, Michael Lapina
Marguerite – Danielle Calder, Lee Abrahmsen
Mephistopholes – Steven Gallop, Eddie Muliaumaseali’i
Valentin – Phillip Calcagno, Yang Liu
Siebel – Belinda Paterson, Casselle Bonollo
Marthe – Caroline Vercoe, Cecily Woodberry
Wagner – Stephen Brodie

Sopranos – Cheryl Darvidis, Debra O’Connor, Giuliana D’Áppio, Jodie De Bono , Kathy Hatton, Sue Halls, Sue Robertson

Cecily Woodberry, Kylie Payman, Louisa Billeter, Maree Macmillan, Wendy Trent

Antonio Cirocco, Craig De Bono, David Woodberry, Paul Dernelley
Richard Wilson, Te Ua Houkamau, Timothy Jacques, Tony Rainer

Michael Carr, Mark Henderson, Robert van Keulen

Bernie Nolan, Dick Dowling, John Davies, Roland Seidl.


Director: Hugh Halliday
: Greg Hocking
Designer – Set: Mark McIntyre
Designer – Costume: Debra Hallam
Designer – Lighting: Scott Allan
Chorus Master: William Bamford
Head of Music/Repetiteur: Raymond Lawrence
Stage Manager: Karen Garaway
Assistant Stage Manager: Elise Beggs
Wigs, Hair, Makeup: Christina Pallikaris 
Set Construction: Peter Turely
Company Manager: Robbie McPhee
Producer: Greg Hocking AM

2023 Bendigo Ring Cycle on sale now!