Melbourne Opera's superb new production of Wagner's rarely performed masterpiece Tannhauser, with a company of over 130 singers and musicians, will open the magnificent Regent Theatre  to the thrilling world of grand opera for the first time.

With leading international star tenor Marius Vlad in the demanding title role, Melbourne Opera has assembled a top cast of international and local singers to perform this monumental work. HeraldSun aria winners Lee Abrahmsen and Jason Wasley appear as Elizabeth and Walther respectively with Sarah Sweeting and Manfred Pohlenz appearing in the pivotal roles of Venus and Wolfram. The superb cast, 60 voices of the Melbourne Opera Chorus and 65 piece  Melbourne Opera Orchestra under the direction of leading Wagnerian Dr David Kram will bring all the majesty of Wagner's magnificent arias and ensembles to life. The new production is directed by Suzanne Chaundy, acclaimed for her recent successes with Il Seraglio, Mary Stuart and Der Freischutz.

Tannhauser, not seen in Melbourne since 1992, tells the story of one man's struggle with the conflicting emotions of sensual and pure love, of flesh and spirit. The opera features some of Wagner's most well known music including the Overture, Ode to the Evening Star, Pilgrims Chorus and Elizabeth's Greeting and Prayer. The opera will be performed in German with English subtitles.

Tannhauser Marius Vlad,
Jason Wasley
Venus Sarah Sweeting
Wolfram Manfred Pohlenz
Herman Eddie Muliaumaseali'i
Walther Jason Wasley,
Jacob Caine
Biterolf Michael Lampard
Heinrich Geoffey Harris
Reinmar Roger Howell
Shepherd Harry Hendel,
Isaac Pearson
Page Sophie Cowall,
Audrey Ryan
Pages Della Gondwana,
Anjali Moorthy, 
Riley Flood

James Ash
Matt Biscombe
Ariel Chou
Myfanwy Coghill
Ian Cook
Ken Courtis
Maddie Crombie
Robin Czuchnowski
Timothy Daly
Elisabeth Denk
Paul Dernelley
Annette Dick
Andrew Dickinson
Michael Dimovski
Dick Dowling
Finn Gilheany
Esther Gresswell
Alicia Groves
Sue Halls
Peter Hanway
Kathy Hatton
Mark Henderson
Angela Hennel
Catherine Hoffman
Piri Jakab
Sherryn Kew
Geoff King
Rebecca Kmit

Jade Leigh
Helen Ling
Terence MacManus
Maree Macmillan
Bianca Majchrzak
Aurélie Marqué
Steve Marsh
Alison McIntosh
Kate Millett
Trevor Mills
Robert Moroni
Bernie Nolan
Rosemary O’Brien
Debra O'Connor
Alexandra Oke
John Overberg
David Preston
Susan Robertson
Roland Seidl
Cameron Sibly
James Sybren Penn
Norma Tovey
Erin Towns
Te Ua Houkamau
Robert Van Keulen
Lynda Watkins
Nicholas Webb

© Copyright 2002, 2013 Melbourne Opera
Design by Design Junkies